Doctors can SUCK
I'm sure I've mentioned that the main reason for getting VGS was so that I could get my severely degenerated hip replaced.
I knew I had to get my BMI down in order to get it done, but I wanted to get my ducks in a row so I was ready for surgery when my BMI was low enough. I went to see a surgeon at Ortho Indy in Greenwood. I knew I probably wasn't quite ready, but wanted to talk about the options and scheduling.
I went in to meet with the Dr., and they took some X-Rays.
When he walked in, I was ready to discuss my hip.
He was not.
He began by telling me that my BMI was too high for surgery, which I already knew.
I told them that I had just had VGS, and that I'd lost about 35 pounds so far and was well on my way to being ready for this surgery in a month or 2.
But that wasn't good enough for him. He then proceeded to tell me that "EVERYONE he knows that had bariatric surgery failed!", and then started giving me the name of a doctor that can ""help you lose this weight without surgery".
Um...hey, dumbass, I just told you I ALREADY had surgery like 3 seconds ago. "Thanks, but I've already had surgery, and I'm having a lot of success....can we talk about hip replacement?"
He then proceeded to tell my why it "always" fails. He said his dad used to smoke and couldn't quit no matter what because he just didn't WANT to quit.
"Thanks, but I don't smoke, so about this HIP...."
"Yeah, so people who have bariatric surgery just want to take the easy way out and they will just gain all their weight back"
"Cool, yeah, but....I'm here for my hip...."
Me: :::walks out and throws the piece of paper in the trash:::
It's later, and the only "thanks" I will say to him is "Thanks for being an ass. because of your incompetence, I found a really good doctor to replace you!"
I called Franciscan 2 weeks later, got in, got surgery scheduled, had my hip replaced, recovered marvelously, and have lost an additional 40 pounds so far...now that I can actually walk.
Fat shaming doctors aren't only annoying, they shoot themselves in the foot. I'm sure my real surgeon enjoyed the 30 grand he got paid :)
The other guy? I never even paid my copay. Why should I? He did NOTHING for me, and refused to address the issue I went there to discuss.
Fuck him.

Comments
Post a Comment